Categories of swine Flu

Date: February 13, 2015

Oseltamivir Cortisone Therapy Swine Flu

Recently, Centre has given guidelines for the States  for combating the H1N1 outbreak. For this purpose Swine flu is categorised in three groups,these are-

1- Category A- There is no requirement for testing H1N1 in thie category. Patients with mild fever, cough and sore throat, body ache, headache, nausea and diarrhoea will be put in Category A and can be monitored for 24-48 hours. These patients will be advised to stay at home and not mingle with the others. They will not need testing for H1N1 and no treatment with Oseltamivir.

2- Category B- Those who have all the symptoms of Category A, but have high-grade fever and are in the high-risk category; they will need treatment with Oseltamivir and will have to be confined at home. High-risk category includes children with mild illness, pregnant women, persons over 65, patients with lung, liver, heart, kidney, blood or neurological diseases or have been on long-term cortisone therapy.

3- Category C-  Those who have all the signs and symptoms of Category A and B and depending on their health condition will have to be hospitalised. If the patients have breathlessness, chest pain, drowsiness, fall in blood pressure, sputum mixed with blood, bluish discolouration of nails they will need to be immediately started on the medicine and hospitalised. This category will also include children with influenza-like illness, high and persistent fever, inability to feed, convulsions and difficulty in breathing.

Important terms used-

1- Oseltamivir- It  is an oral medication used for treating and preventing the flu. It is commercially sold by the name of Tamiflu.

2- Cortisone Therapy- This medication is used to treat conditions such as arthritis, blood/hormone/immune system disorders, allergic reactions, certain skin and eye conditions, breathing problems, and certain cancers.


NOTE-  for more notes on swine flu please visit our article