Man Booker Prize 2015: Marlon James wins for A Brief History of Seven Killings

Date: October 15, 2015

Jamaica UK Nigeria

Marlon James has become the first Jamaican writer to win the Man Booker prize, taking the award for an epic, uncompromising novel not for the faint of heart. It brims with shocking gang violence, swearing, graphic sex, drug crime but also, said the judges, a lot of laughs.


Man Booker 2015 shortlist
This year's Man Booker shortlist featured two authors from the UK, two from the US and one each from Jamaica and Nigeria.

The six novels on this year's Man Booker short list
     Marlon James (Jamaica), A Brief History of Seven Killings
    Tom McCarthy (UK), Satin Island
   Chigozie Obioma (Nigeria), The Fishermen
   Sunjeev Sahota (UK), The Year of the Runaways
   Anne Tyler (US), A Spool of Blue Thread
   Hanya Yanagihara (US), A Little Life