Abel Prize (Noble Prize Of Matematics) 2016:Sir Andrew wiles

Date: March 18, 2016

Abel Committee Niels Henrik Abel

Andrew wiles has been awarded the 2016 Abel Prize, regarded as mathematics’ equivalent of the Nobel Prize, for his stunning proof of Fermat’s Last Theorem which baffled the Mathematicians for more than 300years.He was selected by the Norwegian Academy of Sciences and Letters for solving a centuries old hypothesis (equation), Fermat’s Last Theorem.

Fermat’s Theorem

There are no whole number solutions to the equation xn+ yn = zn when n is greater than 2, unless xyz=0


The Abel Prize

The Abel Prize is an international award for outstanding scientific work in the field of mathematics.It also honours contributions including mathematical aspects of computer science, mathematical physics, probability, numerical analysis, scientific computing, statistics, and also applications of mathematics in the sciences.The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters awards the Abel Prize based upon recommendations from the Abel Committee.
The Prize is named after the exceptional Norwegian mathematician Niels Henrik Abel (1802–1829)