Kaya Kulp council for Indian Railways

Date: March 20, 2015

Kaya kulp’ Council Indian Railways Ratan Tata Suresh Prabhu

Indian Railways' Kaya Kalp council Under Chairmanship of Ratan Tata

Union Ministry of Railways has constituted ‘Kaya kulp’ Council, an innovation council for Indian Railways. Kayakalp — literally means transformation. The council was constituted by Union Minister of Railways Suresh Prabhu in order to fulfill the promise made in the Railway Budget Speech.The council also seeks to re-engineer business and introduce a spirit of innovation in Indian Railways. The council will act as a standing body and will interact with all stakeholders and other interested parties.

Objective of the Council-  To recommend innovative methods and processes for the improvement, betterment and transformation of the Indian Railways.

Members-     The Council initially will have following members,
      Shiv Gopal Mishra, General Secretary of All Indian Railwaymen’s Federation (AIRF).
      M. Raghavaiah, General Secretary of National Federation of Indian Railwaymen (NFIR).
      While the other members of the Council will be announced in due course.

The Railway Ministery also constituted another committee, under former DIPP secretary Ajay Shankar, to revamp ministry's PPP (publicprivate partnership) cell to get private investment. The PPP Cell is critical for the growth of Indian railways since getting funds for new projects has become a challenge.