Earthquake Zones in India

Date: February 28, 2015

Bureau of Indian Standards EARTHQUAKE PRONE ZONE Seismic Zone Mercalli scale


Bureau of Indian Standards, based on the past seismic history, has grouped the country into four seismic zones, viz. Zone-II, -III, -IV and –V.
Of these, Zone V is the most seismically active region, while zone II is the least.

Seismic Zone Intensity on Modified Mercalli (MM) intensity scale associated with various zone is as follows:
     II (Low intensity zone)                                                    VI (or less)

     III (Moderate intensity zone)                                          VII
     IV (Severe intensity zone)                                              VIII
      V (Very severe intensity zone)                                        IX (and above)

Different zones:

Zone-V comprises of entire northeastern India, parts of Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Uttaranchal, Rann of Kutch in Gujarat, parts of North Bihar and Andaman & Nicobar Islands.
Zone-IV covers remaining parts of Jammu & Kashmir and Himachal Pradesh, Union Territory of Delhi, Sikkim, northern parts of Uttar Pradesh, Bihar and West Bengal, parts of Gujarat and small portions of Maharashtra near the west coast and Rajasthan.
Zone-III comprises of Kerala, Goa, Lakshadweep islands, and remaining parts of Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat and West Bengal, parts of Punjab, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra, Orissa, Andhra Pradesh, Tamilnadu and Karnataka.
Zone-II covers remaining parts of the country.