Raghuveer Chaudhari won 51st Gyanpeeth Award 2015

Date: December 29, 2015

sahitya akademy gyanpeeth

Gujrati writer Raghuveer Chaudhari is selected for 51st Gyanpeeth Award 2015.He will receive this award in next year. He has written more than eighty books including novels, poetry, plays and literary criticism. He chiefly writes in Gujarati but also occasionally in Hindi.


His novel Amrita (1965) explores the concept of existentialism. His 1975 trilogy titled Uparvas, Sahwas and Antarvas won him the Sahitya Akademi award in 1977. Rudramahalaya (1978) and Somtirth (1996) are historical novels. 

His other novels include Venu Vatsala (1967), Purvarang, Laagni (1976), Samjyaa Vinaa Chhuta Padavun (2003) and Ek Dag Aagal Be Dag Paachhal (2009) and Avaran.

His Trijo Purush is based on the life of Chandravadan Mehta, a Gujarati author.Sikandar Sani is a historical play while Dim Light is a street play.

Tamasa (1965) is an anthology which explores the idea of intelligence over feelings. Another poetry collection is Vaheta Vriksha Pavanma published in 1985.