World Food Prize 2015

Date: July 03, 2015

Bangladesh poverty Sri Lanka Ramon Magsaysay Award

Fazle Hasan Abed of Bangladesh is the winner of the World Food Prize 2015 

Sir Fazle Hasan Abed, the founder of Brac, the largest non-governmental organisation on the planet, has been awarded the 2015 World Food prize for his “unparalleled” work on reducing poverty in Bangladesh and 10 other countries.

Abed established Brac – formerly known as the Bangladesh Rural Advancement Committee – in 1972 as a relief operation to help the country recover from its war of independence with Pakistan and the destruction wrought by a tropical cyclone.

prepare ias

The organisation’s focus soon switched to finding new ways to tackle poverty and empower women socially and economically, and it is estimated to have brought nearly 150 million people out of poverty since its foundation.
Today, it has a staff of 110,000 and works in 11 countries: Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Pakistan, the Philippines, Sri Lanka, Liberia, Sierra Leone, South Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda and Haiti.

Fazle Hasan Abed he been bestowed with prestigious Ramon Magsaysay Award (2010) and UNDP’s Mahbub Ul Haq Award (also known as Human Development Award) in 2004.

World Food Prize:-  It was Established in 1986 by Nobel laureate Norman Borlaug (father of the Green Revolution). It is an annual award that recognizes scientists and others who have improved the quality and availability of food. It carries monetary award of 250,000 dollars. Since its formation, 7 Indians have won it. They are Dr Sanjaya Rajaram (2014), Dr Modadugu Vijay Gupta (2005), Dr Surinder K. Vasal (2000), Dr B. R. Barwale (1998), Dr Gurdev Khush (1996), Dr Verghese Kurien (1989) and Prof. M. S. Swaminathan (1987).


Source: The Guardian