Ministries and departments- Government of India

Date: July 05, 2017

ministry of home affairs finance ministry external affairs ministry

The Ministries and Departments under Government of India is a topic mentioned under the Governance section of UPSC Civil Services Mains GS 2 paper. Though the number and name of ministries may change with each government, the overall framework will remain the same. Under normal circumstances in each government, there will be separate ministries for Finance, Defense, Home Affairs, External Affairs etc.

Indian Government works by forming different ministries and departments. The important ones among them are listed below.

1. Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare
     Department of Agricultural Research and Education (DARE)
     Department of Agriculture, Cooperation and Farmers Welfare
     Department of Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries

2. Ministry of AYUSH


3. Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers

     Department of Chemicals and Petrochemicals
     Department of Fertilizers
     Department of Pharmaceuticals

4. Ministry of Civil Aviation

5. Ministry of Coal

6. Ministry of Commerce and Industry

     Department of Commerce
     Department of Industrial Policy and Promotion (DIPP)

7. Ministry of Communications

     Department of Posts
     Department of Telecommunications (DOT)

8. Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution

    Department of Consumer Affairs
    Department of Food and Public Distribution

9. Ministry of Corporate Affairs

10. Ministry of Culture

11. Ministry of Defence

     Department of Defence
     Department of Defence Production
     Department of Defence Research & Development
     Department of Ex-Servicemen Welfare

12. Ministry of Development of North Eastern Region

13. Ministry of Drinking Water and Sanitation

14. Ministry of Earth Sciences

      India Meteorological Department (IMD)
15. Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology

16. Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change

17. Ministry of External Affairs

18. Ministry of Finance

      Department of Economic Affairs
      Department of Expenditure
      Department of Financial Services
      Department of Investment and Public Asset Management
      Department of Revenue

19. Ministry of Food Processing Industries

20. Ministry of Health and Family Welfare

     Department of Health and Family Welfare
     Department of Health Research

21. Ministry of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises

    Department of Heavy Industry
    Department of Public Enterprises

22. Ministry of Home Affairs

     Central Armed Police Forces
     Central Police Organisation
     Department of Border Management
     Department of Home
     Department of Internal Security
     Department of Jammu & Kashmir (J & K) Affairs
     Department of Official Language
     Department of States

23. Ministry of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation

24. Ministry of Human Resource Development

     Department of Higher Education
     Department of School Education and Literacy

25. Ministry of Information and Broadcasting

26. Ministry of Labour and Employment

27. Ministry of Law and Justice

     Department of Justice
     Department of Legal Affairs
     Legislative Department

28. Ministry of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises

29. Ministry of Mines

30. Ministry of Minority Affairs

31. Ministry of New and Renewable Energy

32. Ministry of Panchayati Raj

33. Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs

34. Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions

     Department of Administrative Reforms and Public Grievances (DARPG)
     Department of Pension & Pensioner’s Welfare
     Department of Personnel and Training

35. Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas

36. Ministry of Power

37. Ministry of Railways

38. Ministry of Road Transport and Highways

39. Ministry of Rural Development

    Department of Land Resources (DLR)
    Department of Rural Development (DRD)

40. Ministry of Science and Technology

     Department of Biotechnology (DBT)
     Department of Science and Technology (DST)
     Department of Scientific and Industrial Research (DSIR)

41. Ministry of Shipping

42. Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship

43. Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment

    Department of Empowerment of Persons with Disabilities
    Department of Social Justice and Empowerment

44. Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation

45. Ministry of Steel

46. Ministry of Textiles

47. Ministry of Tourism

48. Ministry of Tribal Affairs

49. Ministry of Urban Development

50. Ministry of Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation

51. Ministry of Women and Child Development

52. Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports

     Department of Sports
     Department of Youth Affairs