Governmant approved seven more airports as entry points for e-visa

Date: August 08, 2015

e-visa Varanasi e-TOURIST VISA India

Seven more airports declared entry points for e-visa

Seven more airports including Varanasi and Ahmedabad have been declared as entry points along with the existing nine where citizens from eligible countries can land with an e-tourist visa.

The government has also extended e-tourist visa facility to 36 more countries from 15th August, taking the total number of countries under the scheme upto 113.

prepare ias

Besides Varanasi and Ahmedabad, Jaipur, Amritsar, Gaya, Lucknow and Trichy have been declared as entry points with e-tourist visa, an official statement said on Friday.The existing nine airports where one can land with an e-tourist visa are Bengaluru, Chennai, Delhi, Goa, Kochi, Kolkata, Mumbai, Hyderabad and Thiruvananthapuram.

Among the countries that will benefit from the fresh extension of e-tourist visa are the UK, Spain, the Netherlands, Portugal, Malaysia, Tanzania and Argentina.

Since the launch of the scheme on 27th November 2014, more than two lakh e-tourist visas have been issued till now.

  e-Tourist Visa Facility is available for holders of passport of following countries
Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, Cayman Island,Chile, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Montenegro, Montserrat, Myanmar, Nauru, New Zealand,Nicaragua, Niue Island, Norway, Oman, Palau, Palestine,
Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Republic of Macedonia, Russia, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands,Sri Lanka,Thailand, Tonga, Tuvalu, UAE, Ukraine, USA, Vanuatu, Vatican City-Holy See, Vietnam.

   International Travellers whose sole objective of visiting India is recreation , sight seeing , casual visit to meet friends or relatives, short duration medical treatment or casual business visit.
   Passport should have at least six months validity from the date of arrival in India. The passport should have at least two blank pages for stamping by the Immigration Officer.
   International Travellers should have return ticket or onward journey ticket,with sufficient money to spend during his/her stay in India.
   International Travellers having Pakistani Passport or Pakistani origin may please apply for regular Visa at Indian Mission.
   Not available to Diplomatic/Official Passport Holders.