'Heart of Asia' conference 2015

Date: December 09, 2015

China India pakistan iran

The fifth 'Heart of Asia' conference, an annual gathering of Asian and other countries,is started at Islmabad,Pakistan.It is aimed at enhancing cooperation for countering security threats and promoting connectivity in the region.

The theme of the meeting, jointly hosted by Pakistan and Afghanistan, is 'Heart of Asia — Istanbul Process: Enhanced cooperation for countering security threats and promoting connectivity in the Heart of Asia region.'


Foreign ministers from 10 countries, including external affairs minister Sushma Swaraj, will attend the meeting. It s also said that the high-ranking delegations from 14 participating states, 17 supporting countries and 12 international and regional organisations are participating in the two-day conference.

About Heart of Asia conference:

The Istanbul Process provides a new agenda for regional cooperation in the ‘Heart of Asia’ by placing Afghanistan at its center and engaging the ‘Heart of Asia’ countries in sincere and result‐oriented cooperation for a peaceful and stable Afghanistan, as well as a secure and prosperous region as a whole.

The countries participating in the Istanbul process have agreed on the following three elements for the follow-up to the Istanbul Process:

A) Political consultation involving Afghanistan and its near and extended neighbours.

B) A sustained incremental approach to implementation of the Confidence Building Measures (CBMs) identified in the Istanbul Process document; and

C) Seeking to contribute and bring greater coherence to the work of various regional processes and organisations, particularly as they relate to Afghanistan.


1- Islamic Republic of Afghanistan

2- Republic of Azerbaijan

3- People’s Republic of China

4- Republic of India

5- Islamic Republic of Iran

6- Republic of Kazakhstan

7- Kyrgyz Republic

8- Islamic Republic of Pakistan

9- Russian Federation

10- Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

11- Republic of Tajikistan

12- Republic of Turkey

13- Republic of Turkmenistan

14- United Arab Emirates