Current Affairs

Prepare IAS Coaching

Current Affairs

Title : Sessions of Parliament (GS II)

Date : Nov 23, 2021

Description :

Topic à Parliamentary Proceedings:


  • Why in the News:


  • The Winter Session of the Indian Parliament is stated to commence from 29th November, 2021.
  • This session holds prime importance because the Prime Minister of India had recently announced that the three farm laws will be repealed in the winter session of the Parliament.


  • About the Parliamentary Sessions:


  • Article 85 of the Constitution specifies how Parliament is summoned.
  • The Government has the authority to call a session of Parliament. The Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs makes the decision, which is formalised by the President, in whose name MPs are summoned to a meeting.
  • The legislative schedule in India is not set in stone. Parliament meets three times per year by convention (rather than by the Constitution).
  • The longest, the Budget Session (1st session), begins in late January and ends in late April or the first week of May. The session has been adjourned to allow Parliamentary Committees to discuss the budget suggestions.
  • The three-week Monsoon Session, which normally begins in July and ends in August, is the second session.
  • From November to December, the Winter Session (3rd session) is held.


  • Summoning of Parliament: The practise of summoning all members of Parliament to a meeting is known as summoning. From time to time, the President calls each House of Parliament.
  • The duration between two Parliamentary sessions cannot exceed six months, implying that the Parliament meets at least twice a year.


  • Adjournment: When the House adjourns, the session ends and the House reconvenes at the time set for the next session.
  • The delay can be for a specific amount of time, such as hours, days, or weeks.
  • Adjournment sine die occurs when a meeting is called to a close without a set time or date for the next meeting.


  • Prorogation:
  • The termination of a session is called prorogation.
  • A prorogation marks the end of a meeting. Recess is the period of time between Prorogation and Reassembly.
  • The end of the session, not the dissolution of the house, is known as prorogation (in case of Lok Sabha, as Rajya Sabha does not dissolve).


  • Quorum: The minimal number of members required to conduct a meeting of the house is referred to as the quorum.
  • For both the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha, the Constitution established a quorum of one-tenth of the total membership.
  • Thus, at least 55 members must be present to hold a Lok Sabha session, while at least 25 members must be present to conduct a Rajya Sabha sitting.


Tags : winter session, indian parliament

Subscribe Daily newsletter