Current Affairs

Prepare IAS Coaching

Current Affairs

Title : Gallantry Awards of India (Prelims Specific Content)

Date : Nov 23, 2021

Description :
  • About the Gallantry Awards:


  • The Government of India established the Gallantry Awards to honour the bravery and sacrifice of officers/personnel of the Armed Forces, other lawfully created Forces, and citizens.
  • These gallantry awards are given out twice a year, once on Republic Day and then again on Independence Day.
  • Gallantry awards come in a variety of shapes and sizes.



  • There are two categories of gallantry awards:


  • Valour in the Face of the Enemy
  • Other than in the Face of an Enemy Gallantry Awards


  • The first category of gallantry awards includes the following awards:


  • Param Vir Chakra (PVC), Mahavir Chakra (MVC), Vir Chakra


  • The Param Vir Chakra, the Ashoka Chakra, the Mahavir Chakra, the Kirti Chakra, the Vir Chakra, and the Shaurya Chakra are in order of precedence.


  • Second Category of Gallantry Awards includes the awards:


  • Ashok Chakra (Ashok Chakra)
  • Kirti Chakra (Kirti Chakra)
  • Chakra Shaurya


  • The first three gallantry awards, the Param Vir Chakra, Maha Vir Chakra, and Vir Chakra, were instituted by the Government of India on January 26, 1950, and were declared to have taken effect on August 15, 1947.


  • Following that, the Government of India introduced three more gallantry awards, the Ashoka Chakra Class-I, Ashoka Chakra Class-II, and Ashoka Chakra Class-III, on January 4, 1952, with effect from August 15, 1947. In January 1967, these honours were renamed the Ashoka Chakra, Kirti Chakra, and Shaurya Chakra, respectively.


Tags : Ashok Chakra, Veer Chakra, Param Veer Chakra

Subscribe Daily newsletter